Tuesday, September 9, 2014

I Believe in Terry Pegula

Today is a great day to be a buffalo sports fan.  Terry Pegula will be seen as a preserver of a huge part of our culture as Buffalo sports fan.  Lately, there hasn't been a lot to cheer about around here.  Pegula came in a blaze of glory promising championships for the Buffalo Sabres and instead we saw the worst product of hockey in the NHL.  But does that mean his tenure as an owner has been a failure? No. he necessary moves to try and get a middling franchise out of neutral by cleaning house and bringing in a whole new front office.  These moves were necessary for a team finally looking out for its future.
How will this change the Bills? That's yet to be seen obviously. How this season will go will go a long way to determine how their future.  The Bills mortgaged a lot of their future to get Sammy Watkins and if that blows up in their face the Bills could see a similar front office shakeup.  However the future is bright. For both teams. There is still a lot of work to be done in Buffalo. The Bills need a stadium which could still be in plans for Terry Pegula as far as we know. But no matter, Pegula has become a hero of sorts in Western New York in a short period of time.
Terry Pegula first appeared as just a fan of the Buffalo Sabres in his introductory press conference. No mention of the Buffalo Bills. He probably never thought in his wildest dreams that he would own an NFL team at that time.  But he became apart of our culture. And when the bills went back up for sale, we should've known better than to doubt Buffalo's adopted hero would come to the rescue to keep the Bills around. There should've never been a doubt. Whatever Pegula has in store, whether its a new stadium or just a blessing to a community that cherishes its sports as much as anything in our world. The Ralph will be crazy on Sunday. Hopefully the Pegula's will be in attendance. Buffalo fans will let them know their appreciation for them. We are truly blessed to have the Pegula's in our community. The Bills are staying and that's just how it should be.
 

Sunday, February 2, 2014

Super Bowl 48

  This is always such a sad day as a football fan.  It's the one you've waited for all year, the commercials, the awful halftime show, and everything in between culminated into one 4 hour even called the Super Bowl.  The two best teams in the NFL will be playing today: the Seattle Seahawks and the Denver Broncos. 
  There has been talk essentially all year about 'How will the NFL handle the cold weather Super Bowl?'  Media members have been mentioning how the weather should be ideal for a game of this magnitude.  So you're telling me when Peyton won his first ring in Jacksonville that the pouring rain was ideal?  You can't judge the weather, and today's gameday temperature is around 43 degrees. The fact of the matter is I don't think either teams will really be affected by the weather and it was a topic for reasons I won't really get. Now, the actual game.
  As talked about all week, the matchup to watch is believed to be the great Seattle secondary against the multiple weapons that Denver has.  I think it goes to the trenches.  If Seattle can get pressure and hit Peyton manning and keep him on the ground as much as they can it'll allow that secondary to get leverage and that's something you can't afford.  Watch for Demaryius Thomas to have a big day he's a big physical receiver who has had success against shutdown corners.  But on the other side of the ball, Seattle is so potent and Russell Wilson rarely makes mistakes.  This Denver defense is good but nowhere near great and if Percy Harvin can play and be effective for Seattle I think this game takes a huge turn.  But I think Seattle has an advantage and is going to balance out there offense and overwhelm Denver. 
 I have a feeling this game could get ugly.  The Seahawks have been the consensus best team all year in the league. I think this defense could come out and have a great plan to harass Peyton the entire day.  The Broncos will get theirs, but in the end I think this game will be all Seattle.

Seattle 30 Denver 17  

Monday, January 6, 2014

BCS NATIONAL TITLE PREVIEW

  This is actually the end.  I'm very sad actually. Some great games have come from the BCS era in college football. The greatest arguably being Texas v. USC in the national title at the Rose Bowl.  It was just, well let the video speak for itself.
http://youtu.be/s8zZRBTOcnY
or the Boise State- Oklahoma classic
http://youtu.be/zwzjLQx2Ad0

  But this is the end.  It was a flawed system that didn't always give us the matchups deserved or the ones that we wanted for that matter.  But this year, it couldn't really make a mistake.  Auburn and Florida State ended the season the two best teams in the nation.  The only team who might have something to say about that is Michigan State, but that's for another article.  Florida State is the powerhouse who has blown out any team that has come in it's path and is one of the most overall talented teams in the country.  Oh, and they have the Heisman Trophy Winner Jameis Winston, he's pretty good too.  But Auburn has been a team of destiny.
http://youtu.be/XkpDz8YyVD8
http://youtu.be/HqIBNX0CXDc
 They also feature one of the best rushing attacks in all the nation.  But can they run against the most talented defense they've played all year? That is this Florida St. team because Bama obviously was not the team everyone thought they were after that Oklahoma game.

  Auburn and Florida St. are both in the top 15 in college football in YPG and total offense albeit by very different styles.  Auburn will run the ball on you in multiple ways and will make you stop them.  Florida St. is about as balanced as they get as they have so much talent and depth on their offense.  Auburn has run the ball and scored on everyone they've played this year.  But the SEC has lacked the defensive prowess of previous years and it showed with the high scoring affairs.  And Florida State has allowed the least amount of points in the nation, but the only worthy competition they have played all year is Clemson and they manhandled them.   Florida St. has three receivers up around 900 yards in receiving they will come at you in multiple ways.  Whichever team executes offensively, will be hard to stop. 

  This decision is a hard one.  Auburn has been a team of destiny all year.  Something special seems to be going on with that program.  But Florida St. is so talented in every facet of the game it's hard to picture any team in college football beating them unless its on a fluke.  That's the thing.  If someone can win on a fluke its Auburn.  However I'm going with my gut.  Auburn won't win on a fluke.  But I think they will continue the trend of underdogs winning in these BCS bowls and finish with a national title.  Goodbye BCS, I'll miss you. Until next year college football.
Auburn 27 Florida State 23